Home Living Gluten-FreeEveryday GF Life The Ultimate Gluten Free Holiday Chocolate List

The Ultimate Gluten Free Holiday Chocolate List

The holiday season has begun, which may have you scrambling to find safe chocolate options for your festivities. To help you navigate your way through the virtual/in-person chocolate shelves, here is the ultimate gluten free holiday chocolate list.

Keep in mind, that even with products on the “safe” list of our ultimate gluten-free chocolate list, if it involves a pretzel, crumbs, cookie, cake, or another item that is commonly made with wheat/gluten, do not buy/eat it unless it is labelled gluten free.

Previously, we shared the ultimate gluten free chocolate list and the ultimate gluten free candy list, which have a wider array of products. Today’s ultimate gluten free holiday chocolate list focuses on chocolate treats for Christmas and Hanukkah to put in stockings, gluten free gift baskets, in bowls for parties, or for playing dreidel.

Use this list as a guideline; however, you should always read the label to ensure that the product is made gluten-free in your area. Manufacturing formulations can be different between counties and/or can change with special or holiday versions of products. Also, recipes and manufacturing practices can change, so it’s always a good idea to check the labels.

Remember when reading any food labels (chocolate or otherwise) you want to know the alternative names for gluten, and what “may contain” vs. “contains” means. You may even want to use a scanner app to help you decipher if a product is safe. Check out the other tactics and practices to avoid gluten in our Ultimate Gluten Free Guide for Beginners and 15 Steps for going gluten free.

DISCLAIMER: Also, products that are labeled gluten free are clearly indicated on the list. Other products simply do not contain gluten in the ingredients but are not labeled gluten free. Most of the chocolate on this list is manufactured in facilities, or on equipment that is also used to manufacture products which contain gluten. Please be sure to determine if it is safe for your own personal consumption.

The Ultimate Gluten-Free Holiday Chocolate List

Note: Not all chocolate brands are available in every area. This list contains products from Canada, the United States of America and some from the UK.

Alter Eco

Amanda’s Own Confections


“All of (Amanda’s Own Confections) products are dairy-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, egg-free, soy-free, gluten-free, sesame-free, fish-free, shellfish-free, mustard-free, sulphites-free and lupin-free.” They are also vegan and kosher.

Baci

Brookside

BRACH’S

All Brach’s “product manufactured and/or packaged on lines in which other products containing any of the “Big 8” will contain an allergen statement. Allergens listed explicitly in the ingredients may not be listed dually in the allergen statement. For every Ferrara product that contains allergens, we list a CONTAINS statement immediately following the ingredient list on all of our packages, which clearly indicates which allergens are present. If there is no CONTAINS statement following the ingredient list, then the product has no allergens. Additionally, however, Ferrara uses a MADE IN statement, which reflects any allergens within the manufacturing facility where the product is made out of an abundance of caution for those concerned with allergies.”

Cadbury

Carmit Candy

Cocomels

Enjoy Life Foods:

Frankfort

“All applicable statements are listed on our packaging. If an allergen statement is not listed, the product is free of the 8 major allergens, including peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, fish, milk, egg, wheat and soy.”

Free2B

Fruidles

Gerrit  J. Verburg Co

GHIRARDELLI

The listed chocolate does not contain gluten in the ingredients.

Glutino

Hershey

HighKey

Hu

Kinder

Lakanto

Laura Secord

Lily’s

Lindt

MARS

Does not include gluten in its ingredients, but is not labeled gluten free.

Madelaine Chocolate Company

The following are not labeled gluten free, but the ingredients do not contain gluten.

Merci

Nestle

No Whey Foods

  • No Whey Foods products – 100% Milk Free, Peanut Free, Tree Nut Free, Gluten Free, Egg Free, Soy Free, Sesame Free, No Artificial Colors and Flavors! Free of the top common 9 allergens! Vegan and Kosher!

R.M Palmer

“Our products that do NOT contain “cookies” or “crisp rice” are gluten-free. However, ALL of our products are manufactured on machinery that also manufactures products WITH gluten.”

Pearson’s Candy

Queen Anne

Russell Stover


“Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’mores clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that is also used to make our other products. So, we cannot rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free. Please check the ingredient listing and also check the May Contain information on our package.”

See’s Candy


“Candies produced in See’s Candies facilities do not contain gluten, and these products are the vast majority of those we sell. We sell a small number of specialty candies that we purchase from other partner confectioners. Although these don’t contain gluten, they are manufactured in shared facilities or shared equipment with gluten-containing products. These products are candy canes, peanut butter bites, lemon drops, apple pie bites, Hanukkah hard candy, hot cocoa, and chocolate-covered coffee beans sold in our retail shops and online at Sees.com.”

SkinnyMe

The Dreidel Company

Theo


Listed on its website as gluten free; however, the facility is not gluten free.

Toblerone


All Toblerone flavours do not gluten in the ingredients.

UNREAL brand

Venchi

YumEarth

  • None of YumEarth’s products contain gluten. Although the “Organic Fruit Snacks, Made with Organic Assorted Flavor Gummy Bears and Gummy Worms, Organic Pomegranate Gummy Bears, Organic Licorice, Organic Sour Twists and Organic Sour Beans are manufactured at a facility that also manufactures products containing wheat on shared equipment.”

Hopefully, with the help of this ultimate gluten free holiday chocolate list, you and those you gather with can have a fun and safe holiday.

Are there any other brands or varieties of chocolate you would add to our ultimate gluten free holiday chocolate list?
Please let us know in the comments.

In sharing information, we can help educate each other, and live full and safe gluten free lives.

May the peace and joy of the holidays be with you and yours today, and throughout the new year.

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

PLEASE NOTE: If your question/comment pertains to your health, please understand we are not qualified to provide that advice. If you are feeling unwell, we recommend you seek medical assistance ASAP. If your question/comment is related to a post or living your best gluten-free life (recipe, tips, reviews, etc), we got you covered :)

You may also like to read...

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies. AGREE READ MORE >>

Skip to content