Home Gluten-Free RecipesCoursesDessert The Ultimate Gluten-Free Candy List

The Ultimate Gluten-Free Candy List

The Ultimate Gluten-Free Candy List

Candy is linked to celebrations, holidays, and childhood memories. However, it can get tricky when you are gluten-free or buying for someone who is gluten-free, as hidden gluten lurks in many sweet treats. To help you safely navigate your way through the virtual/in-person candy shelves, I’ve put together this ultimate gluten-free candy list.

Adding candy to a gift, or using it as a hostess gift is common. With Easter around the corner, this might help you fill your Easter basket for that gluten-free someone special. You may also want to check out our Ultimate Gluten-Free Chocolate List, to help you decide which chocolate treats you might want to buy, this Easter.

Use this list as a guideline; however, you should always read the label to ensure that the product is made gluten-free in your area. Manufacturing formulations can be different between counties and/or can change with special or holiday versions of products. Also, recipes and manufacturing practices can change, so it’s always a good idea to check labels.

Remember when reading any food labels (candy or otherwise) you want to know the alternative names for gluten, what “may contain” vs. “contains” means. You may even want to use a gluten-free scanner app to help you decipher if a product is safe. Check out the other tactics and practices to avoid gluten in our Ultimate Gluten-Free Guide for Beginners.

DISCLAIMER: Most of the candy on this list is manufactured in facilities, or on equipment that is also used to manufacture products containing gluten. Please be sure to determine if it is safe for your own personal consumption.

Ultimate Gluten-Free Candy List

Note: Not all candy brands are available in every area.

AirHeads

Chupa Chups Lolipops

Dare

Listed As Gluten-Free On their website.

Kerr’s Candy

Kerr’s manufactures all of its products within a peanut-free and nut-free facility. All Kerr’s products are also gluten-free.

Haribo

May contain traces of milk, wheat.

Hershey

Jelly Belly

According to their website:“We make over 150 different candies and a few of our products use gluten-containing ingredients. These items include Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Deluxe Mix, Seasonal Malt Balls, Licorice Bridge Mix, and Licorice Pastels. Jelly Belly jelly beans are free of gluten ingredients. Always read the Ingredient Label on packages and bulk bins to see if gluten-containing ingredients are present.”

Mars Wrigly

Maynards

Mike And Ikes

Labelled Gluten-Free

Nerds

Nestle

From their website “Gluten is a protein naturally present in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, triticale and oats. Canadian labelling regulations require these sources of gluten to be declared by the grain name in the ingredient list (if it’s part of the product) or in the “May Contain” statement (if there’s a chance for cross-contamination) on a product label. If the above grains are not listed, the product does not contain gluten.”

Peeps

These flavours are labelled gluten-free.

Pop Rocks

Pop Rocks items are free of gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.

Ring Pop

Rockets Candy

YES! Rockets®, Breath Savers® and our entire line of products are gluten-free. Additionally, our products are manufactured in a facility that is gluten‑free and they are safe to eat for those with Celiac Disease

Russell Stover

From their website “Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’mores clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings.”

See’s Candy

Candies produced in See’s Candies facilities do not contain gluten, and these products are the vast majority of those we sell. We sell a small amount of specialty candies that we purchase from other partner confectioners. Although these don’t contain gluten, they are manufactured in shared facilities or in shared equipment with gluten-containing products. These products are candy canes, peanut butter bites, lemon drops, apple pie bites, Hanukkah hard candy, hot cocoa, chocolate covered coffee beans sold in our retail shops and online at Sees.com.

SmartSweets

Our #KickSugar candy lineup is made without any CFIA (CA) or FDA (US) regulated priority food allergens as ingredients! This includes eggs, milk/dairy, mustard, peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, fish, sesame seeds, soy, sulphites, and wheat/gluten. We try our best to use allergen-free facilities that do not process these major food allergens however some of our products may be made in facilities that handle allergens in other areas. 

Swedish Fish

Tangy Zangy

Labelled Gluten-Free

Tootsie Roll Industries

According to their website:
“At this time, all of our confections are gluten-free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.”

Trolli

Werther’s Original

“Werther’s Original products meet the FDA requirements for gluten-free foods (no more than 20 ppm of gluten per product), however, we have chosen not to label our products as “gluten-free” at this time. If you have a gluten allergy, we recommend that you speak to your physician before consuming our product. This information applies to the current recipes and may change in future; please refer to the list of ingredients on the product packaging.”

Hopefully, with the help of this ultimate gluten-free candy list, you or the person you are buying for, can safely enjoy a sweet treat, or two!

Are there any other brands or varieties of candy that you would add to our ultimate gluten-free candy list? Is there any brand that should be avoided that needs to be added to an “unsafe” list? Please let us know in the comments. In sharing information, we can help educate each other, so we can all live a full – and safe – gluten-free life.

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

PLEASE NOTE: If your question/comment pertains to your health, please understand we are not qualified to provide that advice. If you are feeling unwell, we recommend you seek medical assistance ASAP. If your question/comment is related to a post or living your best gluten-free life (recipe, tips, reviews, etc), we got you covered :)

2 comments

Laurine Marrocco March 31, 2022 - 6:14 pm

Do you know what candies are gluten-free AND dairy free?

Reply
Elyse the Gluten-Free Foodee April 1, 2022 - 8:49 pm

Hi Laurine,
Thank you for reading.

Many of these candies are also dairy free. I included links to each variety so readers could check the ingredients in the event other allergens or diet considerations were a concern. Just click/tap on the product name and review the ingredients.

Are you a member of our Facebook group? If not, join with over 31k other gluten- free foodees sharing tips, recommendations, questions, and life experiences. https://www.facebook.com/groups/1093929974438823

Thank you again.

Reply

You may also like to read...

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies. AGREE READ MORE >>

Skip to content